Great Falls

Jun 28, 2013 1:33 PM by Katie Stukey (katie@krtv.com)

11 candidates vying for 4 seats on Great Falls City Commission

GREAT FALLS - Eleven people are vying for four open spots on the Great Falls City Commission.

All four incumbents have filed to run again, including Great Falls Mayor Michael Winters.

He's running for a third 2-year term against Aaron Pursell and Mike Witsoe; Winters defeated Witsoe in the same race four years ago.

Incumbent Bob Kelly is a shoo-in for the only two-year seat up for grabs; he was appointed to the commission in December after Mary Jolley left to take on a new role as the Justice of the Peace.

As for the two open 4-year-terms, seven candidates will appear on the November ballot: incumbents Fred Burow and Bob Jones, along with Aart Dolman, Neal DuBois, Don Petrini, Jeremy Trebas, and Michael Shell.

There are not enough candidates to require a primary, so all of the candidates who've filed will be on the final ballot.

The election will be decided November 5th.