Great Falls

Mar 10, 2011 1:28 PM by KRTV

CMR student chosen as delegate to U.S. Senate Youth Program

Eamon Ormseth, a student at C.M. Russell High School in Great Falls, has been chosen as a delegate to the 49th annual United States Senate Youth Program.

Ormseth was selected from students across the state, along with Krista Bailey of Billings, to be part of the group of 104 student delegates to attend the annual Washington Week in March and receive a $5,000 college scholarship from the Hearst Foundations to continue studying government, history, and public affairs.

Ormseth is Senior Class president at CMR, and also plays on the tennis and golf teams and participates in the speech and debate clubs.

Montana's U.S. Senators Max Baucus and Jon Tester made the announcement on Thursday.

Baucus said, "I want to join all Montanans in congratulating these fine students on being selected from across the state to represent Montana. We can all find inspiration in their commitment to serve others, our state and our country. We are so very proud of you, and you deserve to be proud of yourselves - not just for receiving this honor, but for all the work you put in to earn it."

Tester said, "Montana and America have a strong future thanks to folks like Eamon. These young folks have an incredible opportunity to roll up their sleeves and learn how our government works. I look forward to hearing about Eamon's successes in the weeks and years to come."

During their week-long visit to D.C., Ormseth and Bailey will attend meetings with Senators and Congressional staff, the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, and several members of the national media to help instill a deeper understanding of the function of government and the importance of service. The students will also tour several national monuments and several museums.

Ormseth and Bailey were nominated by their teachers and principals and selected from students across the state by Montana Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau.

Baucus and Tester also congratulated 2011 alternates Bronte Wigen of Great Falls, and Rachel Benshoff of Corvallis.