Montana News

Feb 2, 2014 12:22 PM by Cody Proctor (cody@krtv.com)

Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees honored in Great Falls

GREAT FALLS - Several cowboys made their way to Great Falls this weekend to honor the latest inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame.

About 500 people attended Saturday's recognition at the Heritage Inn.

More than 30 inductees were honored, including the 1904 World Champion Fort Shaw Indian School Girls Basketball Team and the Montana Department of Livestock.

Director of finance Aaron Lyles says the Hall of Fame is about more than famous cowboys: "Really it's about notable contributions from those communities that may not ever otherwise be recognized. It's a way for us to recognize those humble folks that would shy from recognition, but are really the fabric of our community."

The Montana Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center will also get a permanent home in the future.

The organization decided to build their facility in Big Timber and are currently working through plans, business models and looking for donors.

The complete list of 2013 inductees:

District 1 - Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, & Valley Counties
-Shirley Bridges
-Marvin Brookman
-Fae Taylor Philips

District 2 - Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, & Wibaux Counties
-Harley Everett Abarr
- Mary Rose (Kasten) Haughhian
-Obert Kartevold

District 3 - Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, & Treasure Counties
-Daniel M. "Dan" Gaskill
-John Henry Haughian
-Frank P. "Bob" Robinson

District 4 - Blaine, Choteau, Hill, & Liberty Counties
-Jack Siebrasse
-Robert "Bob" Sivertsen
-Elmer Weaver

District 5 - Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, & Toole Counties
-1904 World Champion Fort Shaw Indian School Girls Basketball Team
-Raymong W. "Rib" Gustafson
-Thomas "Butch" O'Connell

District 6 - Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, & Wheatland Counties
-George W. Griemsman
-Wallis Huidekoper
-George Kelly

District 7 - Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, & Yellowstone Counties
-Connolly Saddlery
-James Thurkel "Turk" Greenough
-Peter Christian "Pete" Harms

District 8 - Broadwater, Jefferson, & Lewis and Clark Counties
-Tim Babcock
-Montana Department of Livestock
-Montana The Magazine of Western History

District 9 - Gallatin, Meagher, & Park Counties
-Augustus Franklin "Frank" Crail
-Wendell Lovely
-Earl Presley

District 10 - Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, & Sanders Counties
-Dorothy M. Johnson
-Ed Lane
-Robert Henry "Bob" Schall, Jr.

District 11 - Mineral, Missoula, & Ravalli Counties
-Ed Lambert
-Robert W. "Bob" Olson
-Dwain Rennaker
-Trails End

District 12 - Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, & Powell Counties
-Charles Hahnkamp
-Agnes "Annie" Morgan
-P & O Ranch: Philip H. Poindexter & William C. Orr

Related Stories

  • Story Photo
  • Story Photo
  • Story Photo
  • Story Photo
  • Story Thumbnail
  • Story Thumbnail
  • Story Thumbnail
  • Story Thumbnail