Please select a Position and an Ad Zone.
Please select a Position and an Ad Zone.


Aug 31, 2010 11:20 AM by KPAX (Missoula)

Vote for Monte: Capital One Mascot Challenge underway

The University of Montana's Monte, the only two-time Capital One Mascot of the Year, is one of 16 mascots to have been selected to participate in the 2010 Capital One Mascot Challenge. Voting opened on Monday, August 30.

Monte was voted the Capital One Mascot of the Year in both 2002, the first year of the competition, and 2004. He made this year's All-America team based on his interaction with fans and his ability to contribute to an exhilarating atmosphere; the originality, creativity and professionalism of his appearance/costume; and his national champion pedigree.

For the next 12 weeks, Monte will be paired against a different mascot, and they will battle for the most votes.

At the end of the 12 weeks, the eight mascots with the best win-loss record will advance to a playoff bracket. Week 13 will be the quarterfinals, week 14 the semifinals and week 15 the finals.

The champion will be announced at the Capital One Bowl on January 1, 2011.

The other mascots selected for the 2010 Challenge are Big Blue of Old Dominion, Mr. C of Vanderbilt, Paydirt Pete of Texas-El Paso, Testudo of Maryland, Mike the Tiger of LSU, Joe Vandal of Idaho, Big Red of Western Kentucky, The Duck of Oregon, Sebastian the Ibis of Miami, Smokey of Tennessee, Brutus of Ohio State, The Bird of Air Force, Bearcat of Cincinnati, Goldy of Minnesota and Joe Bruin of UCLA.

Fans can vote through the site or by texting "Monte" to 69866. There is no voting limit.

Previous Mascot of the Year winners include South Carolina's Cocky in 2003, Nebraska's Herbie Husker in 2005, Washington State's Butch T. Cougar in 2006, Akron's Zippy in 2007, Iowa State's Cy in 2008 and Cincinnati's Bearcat last year.


Please select a Position and an Ad Zone.

Bobcat Scholarship Giveaway

MSU Education Giveaway Winner is J.P. Lamey

Please click here for the official rules of the 2013 MTN/MSU Bobcat Scholarship Giveaway