NewsMontana and Regional News


Montana Highway Patrol welcomes new troopers

New troopers will be stationed across Big Sky Country
Posted at 4:23 PM, Sep 19, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-20 09:08:25-04

HELENA — The Montana Highway Patrol commissioned thirteen new troopers on Thursday at the 66th Advanced Academy Graduation ceremony in Helena.

Chief Deputy Attorney General Jon Bennion addressed the graduates at the event, which was at the Delta Marriott Hotel.

Bennion thanked the graduates for choosing a life of public service, saying, “Montana Highway Patrol troopers may wear green and tan rather than blue, but you stand alongside fellow officers from agencies across Montana to form a thin blue line that protects us from dangers seen and unseen. For that, all of us are deeply grateful for your dedication to community, family, and public safety."

Here is the roster of graduates:

Thomas Bjorkman Hometown: Lindstrom, Minnesota; Initial station: Lewistown

Thomas Clawson Hometown: Plentywood, Montana; Initial station: Plentywood

Jared Delaney Hometown: Park City, Montana; Initial station: Billings

Wyatt Duncan Hometown: Valdez, Alaska; Initial station: Big Timber

Matthew Hudgins Hometown: Sacramento, California; Initial station: Billings

Caleb Kadrmas Hometown: Glendive, Montana; Initial station: Glendive

Andrew Leighton Hometown: Minneapolis, Minnesota; Initial station: Bozeman

Hayden Mannetter Hometown: Mammoth Lakes, California; Initial station: Big Sky

Jacob Parker Hometown: Bridger, Montana; Initial station: Billings

Aidan Schaffer Hometown: Barto, Pennsylvania; Initial station: Bozeman

Michael Severson Hometown: Livingston, Montana; Initial station: Billings

Connor Wager Hometown: Caroga Lake, New York; Initial station: Livingston

Harris Wilson Hometown: Malibu, California; Initial station: Sidney

The following awards were presented at Thursday's ceremony:

  • Physical Fitness Award: Wyatt Duncan - awarded for exemplary standards during the physical fitness curriculum
  • The Michael Haynes Memorial Grant: Thomas Clawson - this award was presented in loving memory of Trooper Michael W. Haynes – MHP 159 by his wife, Tawny Haynes
  • Academic Award: Matthew Hudgins - awarded for exemplary standards during the academic curriculum
  • Camp Commander Award: Thomas Clawson - awarded for exemplary standards and performance observed by the Camp Commanders

The MHP is accepting applications for new Troopers; if you're interested, click here to visit the MHP website for details and apply by October 4. For more information about the Trooper selection process and requirements, contact MHP at 1-(877) 8-PATROL toll-free or (406) 444-3259.