NBA releases names of 75 greatest players in league history

Posted at 11:48 AM, Oct 20, 2021
and last updated 2021-10-20 15:02:58-04

The National Basketball Association is turning 75, and to celebrate that milestone, they've decided to name the 75 greatest players in league history.

On Tuesday, they released the first 25 names of players that they've named to its 75th-anniversary team.

The first players to make the cut are, in no particular order:

  • Bill Russell
  • Bob Pettit
  • Oscar Robertson
  • Dirk Nowitzki
  • Hal Greer
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo
  • Kevin Durant
  • Willis Reed
  • Jerry Lucas
  • Elvin Hayes
  • Hakeem Olajuwon
  • James Harden
  • Bob Cousy
  • Dave Cowens
  • Nate Archibald
  • Kevin McHale
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
  • George Mikan
  • John Stockton
  • Steve Nash
  • Charles Barkley
  • Julius Erving
  • Moses Malone
  • George Gervin
  • David Robinson

The NBA said the next 25 players would be announced Wednesday at 3 p.m. ET on ESPN, and the last 25 players will be announced on Thursday at 6 p.m. ET on TNT.

According to the league, the players were selected by media members, current and former players, coaches, and team executives.