NewsGreat Falls News


Nominations are now open for the 2024 Paris Gibson Award

great falls aerial milwaukee tower
Paris Gibson statue
Posted at 2:46 PM, Apr 11, 2024

Nominations are now open for the annual Paris Gibson Award, named for the founder of Great Falls. The award was created "to honor the citizen who best embodies the vision and excellence exemplified by Gibson."

To be eligible for the award, selected by previous Paris Gibson Award winners, a nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Is currently a resident of Great Falls
  • Has provided significant impact to the City of Great Falls
  • Has provided leadership for the community through volunteerism
  • Has performed selfless action for the betterment of the community

The award winner will receive a $500 check provided by Jimmy and Debbie Filipowicz of Steel Etc., to be donated to a charity of the winner’s choice; a memorial tree donated by Tilleraas Nursery and granite marker provided by Montana Granite; a winners plaque, donated by Greg and Leanne Hall; dinner for two at P. Gibson’s, donated by P. Gibson’s Sports Grill; and a ride in a 1918 Model T Ford provided by Kurt Baltrusch of the Skunk Wagon Club in the Fourth of July Parade.

The winner will be announced before the Great Falls Municipal Band Concert at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 26 in the Mansfield Convention Center.

Nomination forms are available at the Park & Recreation Office (1700 River Drive North) or by clicking here. Deadline for entries is May 3, 2024.

Previous winners of the award are:

  • Doug Wicks, 2010
  • Norma Ashby, 2011
  • Greg Hall, 2012
  • Ian and Nancy Davidson, 2013
  • Gene Thayer, 2014
  • Bill and Joan-Nell Macfadden, 2015
  •  Arlyne Reichert, 2016
  • Sheila Rice, 2017
  • Brad Talcott and Linda Caricaburu, 2018
  • Chuck and Gerry Jennings, 2019 
  • Judy Ericksen, 2020
  • David and Tanya Cameron, 2021
  • Bud Nicholls, 2022
  • Kathy Van Tighem, 2023